

Previous
Next
Index
Thread
Re: Do / prevent X unless Y

-
To: Public Netbase NewsAgent
-
Subject: Re: Do / prevent X unless Y
-
From: aahz@cats.ucsc.edu (Thomas R Wylie)
-
Date: Sat, 29 Jun 1996 17:47:41 -0700 (PDT)
-
Article: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules.67841
-
Score: 100

Woking Library <gi97@dial.pipex.com> wrote:
>When do you pay the cost of Y in cases like:
>Vodalian Mage
>Seizures
These costs are paid during resolution, since the effect does something unless
a player pays a cost.
>Lim Duls Hex
>Soul Barrier
These costs are paid during damage prevention, since the effects just deal
damage, and then give the player(s) a way to prevent the damage.
>Presumably if the source is destroyed after X, but before Y then
>you can still pay Y (eg Naf's Asp destroyed after it damages. It
>could still do extra damage and extra damage could still be prevented
>by paying 1 mana)
Destroying the source won't stop a player from buying her way out of it, no.
>Prevent X unless you do/pay Y: timing slightly different?
>eg Brainwash. Do you have to pay the 3 mana before assigning the
>attacker, after assignment, or as a cost to assign?
>eg Drought. Is the sacrifice done before anouncement, after or
>as an additional cost during anouncement?
In both cases, you pay ahead of time, since you are paying for the privilege
to do something.
Tom Wylie rec.games.trading-cards.* Network Representative for
aahz@cats.ucsc.edu Wizards of the Coast, Inc.



